Special Collections

Guide to Locating Manuscripts and Their Descriptions

Manuscripts can be described in varying levels of detail, and manuscript collections are cataloged in varying degrees of completeness. Some libraries have described their collections in full, others only partially so; some libraries possess published printed catalogs, others only unpublished handwritten or typescript inventories. The task of identifying a manuscript itself can involve considerable research.

The Vatican Library, for instance, possesses no single comprehensive catalog (printed or online) that describes its entire collection. Researchers must instead utilize a variety of printed and handwritten catalogs and inventories, partial online catalogs, bibliographies, and indices to identifying manuscripts in which they are interested. For any library, it is always advisable to consult their website for the most current cataloging information.

For manuscripts of the Vatican Library and for other library collections, the following resources are useful in identifying manuscripts and their descriptions:

Bibliographies of Printed and Unpublished Catalogs and Inventories by Language
 

Arabic

  • A.J.W. Huisman, Les Manuscrits arabes dans le monde: Une Bibliographie des catalogues (Leiden: Brill, 1967)

Armenian

  • Bernard Coulie, Répertoire des bibliothèques et des catalogues de manuscrits arméniens, Corpus Christianorum (Turnhout: Brepols, 1992)

Ethiopic

  • Robert Beylot, Répertoire des bibliothèques et des catalogues de manuscrits ethiopiens, Documents, études et répertoires publiés par l'Institut de recherches et d'histoire des textes (Paris; Turnhout: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique; Brepols, 1995)

Greek

  • Marcel Richard, Répertoire des bibliothèques et des catalogues de manuscrits grecs de Marcel Richard, 3rd ed., ed. Jean-Marie Olivier, Corpus Christianorum (Turnhout: Brepols, 1995)

Latin  

(Includes Western European vernacular languages in Latin script)

  • Paul Oskar Kristeller, Latin Manuscript Books before 1600: A List of the Printed Catalogues and Unpublished Inventories of Extant Collections, 4th ed., Sigrid Krämer, ed., Monumenta Germaniae historica, Hilfsmittel, 13 (Munich: Monumenta Germaniae Historica, 1993)
  • Sigrid Krämer, Latin Manuscript Books before 1600: A List of the Printed Catalogues and Unpublished Inventories of Extant Collections; Ergänzungsband, Monumenta Germaniae Historica, Hilfsmittel, 23 (Hannover: Hahnsche Buchhandlung, 2007)
  • Paul Oskar Kristeller, Latin Manuscript Books before 1600: A List of the Printed Catalogues and Unpublished Inventories of Extant Collections, 5th ed., Sigrid Krämer, ed. (Munich: Monumenta Germaniae Historica, 2003), http://www.mgh-bibliothek.de/kristeller
  • F. Edward Cranz, A Microfilm Corpus of the Indexes to Printed Catalogues of Latin Manuscripts before 1600 A.D. (New London, Conn., 1982)
  • F. Edward Cranz, A Microfilm Corpus of Unpublished Inventories of Latin Manuscripts through 1600 A.D. (New London, Conn., 1988)
  • Paul Oskar Kristeller, Iter italicum: A Finding List of Uncatalogued or Incompletely Catalogued Humanistic Manuscripts of the Renaissance in Italian and other Libraries, 7 vols. (London: Warburg Institute, 1963–97)

Slavic

  • David Djaparidzé, Mediaeval Slavic Manuscripts: A Bibliography of Printed Catalogues (Cambridge, Mass.: Mediaeval Academy of America, 1957)

Syriac

  • Alain Desreumaux, with Françoise Briquel-Chatonnet, Répertoire des bibliothèques et des catalogues de manuscrits syriaques, Documents, études et répertoires publiés par l'Institut de recherches et d'histoire des textes (Paris: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1991)

Vatican Film Library Topical Research Bibliographies

The following research bibliographies are arranged by subject and indicate catalogs, inventories, repertories, or exhibition catalogs in which descriptions of manuscripts from the Vatican Library and other collections can be found.

Vatican Library Online Manuscript Catalog

The online manuscripts catalog of the Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana contains a growing amount of information on the collections

Vatican Library Manuscript Serial Bibliographies

Greek

  • Paul Canart, Sussidi bibliografici per i manoscritti greci della Biblioteca Vaticana, Studi e testi, 251 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1970)

Latin

  • Marco Buoncore et al., Bibliografia retrospettiva dei fondi della Biblioteca Vaticana, 2 vols., Studi e testi, 361, 464 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1994–2011)
  • Marco Buoncore, Bibliografia dei fondi manoscritti della Biblioteca Vaticana (1968–1980), 2 vols., Studi e testi, 318–19 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1986)
  • Marco Buoncore, Bibliografia dei fondi manoscritti della Biblioteca Vaticana (1981–1985), Studi e testi, 342 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1991)
  • Marco Buoncore, Bibliografia dei fondi manoscritti della Biblioteca Vaticana (1986–1990), Studi e testi, 379 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1998)
  • Marco Ceresa, Bibliografia dei fondi manoscritti della Biblioteca Vaticana (1991–2000), Studi e testi, 426 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 2005)

Vatican Library Manuscript Catalogs by Collection

Archivio del Capitolo di San Pietro

(Arch. Cap. S. Pietro)

  • Catalogue des manusrits grecs de l’Archivio di San Pietro, Paul Canart, ed., Studi e testi, 246 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1966; rpt. 1988)
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Barberiniani arabi

(Barb. ar.)

  • See Arabic language group catalogs.

Barberiniani armeni

(Barb. arm.)

  • See Armenian language group catalogs.

Barberiniani greci

(Barb. gr.)

  • Codices Barberiniani graeci, vol. 1, Codices 1–163, Valentinus Capocci, ed., Bibliothecae apostolicae vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Bibliotheca apostolic vaticana, 1958)
  • Codices Barberiniani graeci, vol. 2, Codices 164–281, Joseph Mogenet, ed., Bibliothecae apostolicae vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Bibliotheca apostolic vaticana, 1989)
  • [MSS 282–593: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Seymour De Ricci, “Liste sommaire des manuscrits grecs de la Bibliotheca Barberiniana,” Revue des bibliothèques 17 (1907): 81–125 [MSS 1–590]

Barberiniani latini

(Barb. lat.)

  • Codices Barberiniani latini, Sextus Prete, ed., Bybliothecae apostolicae vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Bibliotheca apostolic vaticana, 1968) [MSS 1–150]
  • [MSS 151–10683: no printed collection catalog available]
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.
  • Harold G. Jones, Hispanic Manuscripts and Printed Books in the Barberini Collection, Studi e testi, 280–81 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1978)

Barberiniani orientali

(Barb. or.)

  • See Arabic language group catalogs.
  • See Armenian language group catalogs.
  • See Coptic language group catalogs.
  • See Ethiopic language group catalogs.
  • See Persian language group catalogs.
  • See Syriac language group catalogs.
  • See Turkish language group catalogs.

Boncampagni-Ludovisi

(Bonc.)

  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Borghesiani

(Borgh.)

  • Codices Burghesiani Bibliothecae Vaticanae, Anneliese Maier, ed., Studi e testi, 170 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1952; rpt. 1992)
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Borgiani arabi

(Borg. ar.)

  • See Arabic language group catalogs.

Borgiani armeni

(Borg. arm.)

  • See Armenian language group catalogs.

Borgiani copiti

(Borg. copt.)

  • See Coptic language group catalogs.

Borgiani etiopici

(Borb. Etiop.)

  • See Ethiopic language group catalogs.

Borgiani greci

(Borg. gr.)

  • Codices graeci Chisiani et Borgiani, Pius Franci De’Cavalieri, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1927)

Borgiani latini

(Borg. lat.)

  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Borgiani persiani

(Borg. pers.)

  • See Persian language group catalogs.

Borgiani turchi

(Borg. turch.)

  • See Turkish language group catalogs.

Cappella Sistina

(Capp. Sist.)

  • Josephus M. Llorens, Capellae Sixtinae codices musicis notis instructi sive manu scripti sive praelo excusi, Studi e testi, 202 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1960)

Capponiani (Cappon.)

  • I Codici capponiani della Biblioteca Vaticana, Giuseppe Salvo Cozzo, ed., Bibliothecae apostolicae vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1897) [MSS 1–286]
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Cerulli persiani

(Cerulli pers.)

  • Elenco di drammi religiosi persiani (fondo mss. Vaticani Cerulli), Ettore Rossi and Alessio Bombaci, eds., Studi e testi, 209 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1961)

Chigiani

(Chig.)

  • Codices graeci Chisiani et Borgiani, Pius Franci De’Cavalieri, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1927)
  • See Armenian language group catalogs.
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.
  • See Turkish language group caalogues.

Ferrajoli

(Ferr.)

  • Codices Ferrajoli, vol. 1, Codices 1–425, Franciscus Aloisius Berra, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1939)
  • Codices Ferrajoli, vol. 2, Codices 426–736, Franciscus Aloisius Berra, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1948)
  • Codices Ferrajoli, vol. 3, Codices 737–977, Franciscus Aloisius Berra, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1960)
  • Giuliana Gialdroni and Teresa M. Gialdroni, Libretti per musica del fondo Ferrajoli della Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, Ancilla musicae, 4 (Lucca: Libreria Musicale Italian and Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1993)
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Ferrajoli Autografi—Raccolta prima

(Ferr. Autogr.—Racc. Prima)

  • La “Raccolta prima” degli Autografi Ferrajoli: Introduzione, inventario e indice, Paolo Vian, ed., Studi e testi, 336, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 2 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1990)

Ferrajoli Autografi—Raccolta Ferrajoli

(Ferr. Autogr.—Ferrajoli)

  • La Raccolta Ferrajoli e Menozzi degli Autografi Ferrajoli: Introduzione, inventario e indice, Paolo Vian, ed., Studi e testi, 351, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 3 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1992)

Ferrajoli Autografi—Raccolta Menozzi

(Ferr. Autogr.—Menozzi)

  • La Raccolta Ferrajoli e Menozzi degli Autografi Ferrajoli: Introduzione, inventario e indice, Paolo Vian, ed., Studi e testi, 351, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 3 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1992)

Ferrajoli Autografi—Raccolta Minervini

(Ferr. Autogr.—Minervini)

  • La Raccolta Minervini e Odorici degli Autografi Ferrajoli: Introduzione, inventario e indice, Paolo Vian, ed., Studi e testi, 354, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 4 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1993)

Ferrajoli Autografi—Raccolta Odorici

(Ferr. Autogr.—Odorici)

  • La Raccolta Minervini e Odorici degli Autografi Ferrajoli: Introduzione, inventario e indice, Paolo Vian, ed., Studi e testi, 354, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 4 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1993)

Ferrajoli Autografi—Raccolta Visconti

(Ferr. Autogr.—Visconti)

  • La Raccolta e la Miscellanea Visconti degli Autografi Ferrajoli: Introduzione, inventario e indice, Paolo Vian, ed., Studi e testi, 377, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 5 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1996)

Neofiti

(Neofiti)

  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.
  • See Syriac language group catalogs.

Ottoboniani greci

(Ott. gr.)

  • Codices manuscripti graeci Ottoboniani Bibliothecae Vaticanae, E. Feron and F. Battaglini, eds., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1893)

Ottoboniani latini

(Ott. lat.)

  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Palatini greci

(Pal. gr.)

  • Codices manuscripti Palatini graeci Bibliothecae Vaticanae, Henry Stevenson, Sr., ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1885)

Palatini latini

(Pal. lat.)

  • Codices Palatini latini, vol. 1, Codices 1–921, Henry Stevenson, ed., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae Codices manuscripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1886; rpt. 1975)
  • [MSS 922–2022: no printed collection catalog available]
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Patteta

(Patteta)

  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Reginensi greci

(Reg. gr.)

  • Codices manuscripti graeci Reginae Suecorum et Pii PP. II Bibliothecae Vaticanae, Henry Stevenson, Sr., ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1888)

Reginensi latini

(Reg. lat.)

  • Codices Reginenses Latini, vol. 1, Codices 1–250, Andreas Wilmart, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1937)
  • Codices Reginenses Latini, vol. 2, Codices 251–500. Andreas Wilmart, ed. Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1945)
  • [MSS 501–2120: no printed collection catalog available]
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Rossiani

(Ross.)

  • See Arabic language group catalogs.
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.
  • See Coptic language group catalogs.
  • See Ethiopic language group catalogs.
  • See Persian language group catalogs.
  • Hans Tietze, Die Illuminierten Handschriften des Rossiana in Wien-Lainz, Beschreibendes Verzeichnis der illuminierten Handschriften in Österreich, 5 (Leipzig: Hiersmann, 1911)
  • Susanne Vitte, Les Manuscrits français du Fonds Rossi à la Bibliothèque Vaticane (Paris, 1930)

Santa Maria Maggiore, Manoscritti

(S. Maria Maggiore, Ms.)

  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Urbinati ebraici

(Urb. ebr.)

  • See Hebrew language group catalogs.

Urbinati greci

(Urb. gr.)

  • Codices Urbinates graeci Bibliothecae Vaticanae, Cosimus Stornajolo, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1895)

Urbinati latini

(Urb. lat.)

  • Codices Urbinates latini, vol. 1, Codices 1–500, Cosimus Stornajolo, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1902)
  • Codices Urbinates latini, vol. 2, Codices 501–1000, Cosimus Stornajolo, ed. Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1912)
  • Codices Urbinates latini, vol. 3, Codices 1001–1779, Cosimus Stornajolo, ed. Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1921)
  • See Classical Latin language group catalogs.

Vaticani arabi

(Vat. ar.)

  • See Arabic language group catalogs.

Vaticani armeni

(Vat. arm.)

  • See Armenian language group catalogs.

Vaticani copti

(Vat. copt.)

  • See Coptic language group catalogs.

Vaticani ebraici

(Vat. ebr.)

  • See Hebrew language group catalogs.

Vaticani etiopici

(Vat. etiop.)

  • See Ethiopic language group catalogs.

Vaticani greci

(Vat. gr.)

  • Codices Vaticani graeci, vol. 1, Codices 1–329, Iohannes Mercati and Pius Franchi de‘ Cavalieri, eds., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1923)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci, vol. 2, Codices 330–603, Robert Devreesse, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1937)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci, vol. 3, Codices 604–866, Robert Devreesse, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1950)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 867–932, Peter Schreiner, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1988)
  • [MSS 932–1484: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 1485–1683, Cyrus Giannelli, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1950)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 1684–1744, Cyrus Giannelli, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1961)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 1745–1962, vol. 1, Codicum enarrationes,  Paul Canart, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1970)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 1745–1962, vol. 2, Introductio Addenda Indices, Paul Canart, ed. , Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1973)
  • [MSS 1962–2161: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 2162–2254, Salvator Lilla, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1985)
  • Codices Vaticani graeci: Codices 2644–2663, Salvator Lilla, ed., Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1996)

Vaticani iberici (georgiani)

(Vat. iber.)

  • See Georgian language group catalogs.

Vaticani latini

(Vat. lat.)

  • Codices Vaticani latini, vol. 1, Codices 1–678, Marco Vattasso and Pius Franchi de‘ Cavalieri., eds. Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1902)
  • Codices Vaticani latini, vol. 2, pt. 1, Codices 679–1134, Auguste Pelzer, ed. Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City, Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1931; rpt. 1970.)
  • Codices Vaticani latini, vol. 2, pt. 2, Appendix ad tomi II partem priorem, qua codices 679–1134 enarraverat, Auguste Pelzer, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1933)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 1135–1266, M.-H. Laurent, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1958)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 1135–1266 indices, Maria Lebreton, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana Codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1968)
  • [MSS 1267–1460: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani latini, vol. 3, Codices 1461–2059, Bartholomew Nogara, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1912)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 2060–2117, Claudio Leonardi, ed., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1987)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 2118–2192, Anneliese Maier, ed., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1961)
  • [MSS 2193–9733: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 9734–9782 (codices Amatiani), Marco Buonocore, ed., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1988)
  • [MSS 9783–9851: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 9852–10300, Marco Vattasso and Enrico Carusi, eds., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1914; rpt. 1981)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 10301–10700, Marco Vattasso and Enrico Carusi, eds., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1920; rpt. 1982)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 10701–10875, Giovanni Battista Borino, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1947)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 10701–10875, indices, Giovanni Battista Borino, ed., Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1947)
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 10876–11000, Giovanni Battista Borino, ed., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1955)
  • [MSS 11001–11265: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 11266–11326, Maria Magdalena Lebreton and Aloisius Fiorani, eds., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1985)
  • [MSS 11327–11413: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Codices Vaticani latini: Codices 11414–11709, José Ruysschaert, ed., Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1959)
  • [MSS 11710–14665: no printed collection catalog available]
  • Manoscritti Vaticani latini 14666–15203: Catalogo sommario, Ambrogio M. Piazzoni and Paolo Vian, eds., Studi e testi, 336, Cataloghi sommari e inventari dei fondi manoscritti, 1 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1989)

Vaticani persiani

(Vat. per.)

  • See Persian language group catalogs.

Vaticani samaritani

(Vat. sam.)

  • See Samaritan language group catalogs.

Vaticani siriaci

(Vat. sir.)

  • Stefano Evodio Assemani, Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codicum manuscriptorum catalogus, in tres partes distributus, in quarum prima orientales, in altera graeci, in tertia latini, italici aliorumque europeanorum idiomatum codices, 3 vols. (Rome, 1756–59; rpt. Paris, 1926), vols. 2–3 [MSS 1–257]
  • Angelo Mai, “Codices Chaldaici sive syriaci Vaticani Assemani,” in Scriptorum veterum nova collectio e Vaticani codicibus, 10 vols. (Rome, 1825–38), 5, pt. 2:1–82 [MSS 258–459]
  • Inventaire des manuscrits syriaques des fonds Vatican (490 [recte 460]–631), Barberini Oriental et Neofiti, Arnold Van Lantschoot, ed., Studi e testi, 243 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1965; rpt. 1996)

Vaticani turchi

(Vat. turch.)

  • See Turkish language group catalogs.

Vatican Library Manuscript Catalogs by Language Group

Arabic

  • Elenco dei manoscritti arabi islamici della Biblioteca Vaticana: Vaticani, Barberiniani, Borgiani, Rossiani, Giorgio Levi della Vida, ed., Studi e testi, 67 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1935; rpt. 1968)
  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Armenian

  • Codices Armeni Bibliothecae Vaticanae, Borgiani, Vaticani, Barberiniani, Chisiani, Eugene Tisserant, ed., Bibliothecae apostolicae vaticanae codices manu scripti recensiti (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1927)
  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Coptic

  • Codices coptici Vaticani Barberiniani, Borgiani, Rossiani, vol. 1, Codices coptici Vaticani, Adulphus Hebbelynck and Arnold van Lantschoot, eds. (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1937)
  • Codices Coptici Vaticani, Barberiniani, Borgiani, Rossiani, vol. 2, Codices Barberiani Orientales 2 et 17, Borgiani Coptici 1–108, Arnold van Lantschoot, ed. (Vatican City, Biblioteca apostolic vaticana, 1947)

Ethiopic

  • Codices Æthiopici Vaticani et Borgiani, Barberinianus Orientalis 2 Rossianus 865, Silvanus Grébaut and Eugene Tisserant, eds., 2 vols. (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1935–36)
  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Greek

  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)
  • Stefano Evodio Assemani, Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codicum manuscriptorum catalogus, in tres partes distributus, in quarum prima orientales, in altera graeci, in tertia latini, italici aliorumque europeanorum idiomatum codices, 3 vols. (Rome, 1756–59; rpt. Paris, 1926)

Georgian

  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Hebrew

  • Benjamin Richler and Malachi Beit-Arié, in collaboration with Nurit Pasternak, Hebrew Manuscripts in the Vatican Library: Catalogue, Studi e testi, 438 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 2008)
  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Latin, Classical

  • Elisabeth Pellegrin et al., eds., Les Manuscrits classiques latins de la Bibliothèque Vaticane, vol. 1, Fonds Archivio San Pietro à Ottoboni, Documents etudes et repertoires publiés par l’Institut de recherche et d’histoire des texts, 21 (Paris: Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1975)
  • Elisabeth Pellegrin et al., eds., Les Manuscrits classiques latins de la Bibliothèque Vaticane, vol. 2, Fonds Patteta et fonds de la Reine, 2 vols., Documents etudes et repertoires publiés par l’Institut de recherche et d’histoire des texts, 21 (Paris: Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 19778–82)
  • Elisabeth Pellegrin et al., eds., Les Manuscrits classiques latins de la Bibliothèque Vaticane, vol. 3, pt. 1, Fonds Vatican 224–2900, Documents etudes et repertoires publiés par l’Institut de recherche et d’histoire des texts, 21 (Paris: Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1991)
  • Elisabeth Pellegrin et al., eds., Les Manuscrits classiques latins de la Bibliothèque Vaticane, vol. 3, pt. 2, Fonds Vatican 2901–14740, Documents etudes et repertoires publiés par l’Institut de recherche et d’histoire des texts, 21 (Paris: Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 2011)
  • Stefano Evodio Assemani, Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codicum manuscriptorum catalogus, in tres partes distributus, in quarum prima orientales, in altera graeci, in tertia latini, italici aliorumque europeanorum idiomatum codices, 3 vols. (Rome, 1756–59; rpt. Paris, 1926)

Persian

  • Elenco dei manoscritti persiani della Biblioteca Vaticana: Vaticani, Barberiniani, Borgiani, Rossiani, Ettore Rossi, ed., Studi e testi, 136 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1948; rpt. 1983)
  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Samaritan

  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Slavic

  • Aksinija Džurova, Krasimir Stančev, and Marko Japundžić, eds. Catalogo dei manoscritti slavi della Biblioteca Vaticana = Опис на славянските ръкописи във Ватиканската Библиотека ( Sofia, 1985)

Syriac

  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)
  • Stefano Evodio Assemani, Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae codicum manuscriptorum catalogus, in tres partes distributus, in quarum prima orientales, in altera graeci, in tertia latini, italici aliorumque europeanorum idiomatum codices, 3 vols. (Rome, 1756–59; rpt. Paris, 1926)
  • Inventaire des manuscrits syriaques des fonds Vatican (490 [recte 460]–631), Barberini Oriental et Neofiti, Arnold Van Lantschoot, ed., Studi e testi, 243 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1965; rpt. 1996)

Turkish

  • Elenco dei manoscritti turchi della Biblioteca Vaticana: Vaticani, Barberiniani, Borgiani, Rossiani, Chigiani, Ettore Rossi, ed., Studi e testi, 174 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1953; rpt. 1996)
  • Joseph Simonius Assemanus, Bibliotheca orientalis Clementino-Vaticana in qua manuscriptos codices syriacos, arabicos, persicos, turcicos, hebraicos, samaritanos, armenicos, aethiopicos, graecos, aegyptiacos, ibericos, et malabaricos ... 3 vols. (Rome, 1719–28; rpt. Hildesheim: Olms, 2000)

Vatican Library Manuscript Catalogs by Subject Matter

  • Bibliotecae Apostolicae Vaticanae corpus manuscriptorum musicalium, vol. 1, Sanctae Mariae Maioris, Rita Andolina and Susanna Greco, eds. (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1994)
  • A Catalogue of Canon and Roman Law Manuscripts in the Vatican Library, vol. 1, Codices Vaticani latini 541–2299, Stephan Kuttner and Reinhard Helze, eds., Studi e testi, 322 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1986)
  • A Catalogue of Canon and Roman Law Manuscripts in the Vatican Library, vol. 2, Codices Vaticani latini 2300–2746, Stephan Kuttner and Reinhard Helze, eds., Studi e testi, 328 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1987)
  • I codici latini datati della Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, vol. 1, Nei fondi Archivio S. Pietro, Barberini, Boncompagni, Borghese, Borgia, Capponi, Chigi, Ferrajoli, Ottoboni, José Ruysschaert, Adriana Marucchi, and Albinia de la Mare, eds. (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1997)
  • I codici latini datati della Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, vol. 2, I codici datati nei Vaticani latini 1–2100, Elisabetta Caldelli, ed. (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 2007)
  • Hugo Ehrensberger, Libri liturgici Bibliothecae Apostolicae Vaticanae manu scripti (Friburg, 1897)
  • Girard J. Etzkorn, Vaticanum Franciscanum: A Description of some One Hundred Manuscripts of the Vaticanus Latinus Collection (Leiden: Brill, 1996)
  • Les Manuscrits liturgiques latins de la Bibliothèque Vaticane, Pierre Salmon, ed., 5 vols., Studi e testi, 251, 253, 260, 267, 270 (Vatican City: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1968–72)
  • Marco Vattaso, I codici Petrarcheschi della Biblioteca Vaticana, Studi e testi, 20 (Rome: Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana, 1908)

Department of Special Collections, Pius XII Memorial Library, Saint Louis University 3650 Lindell Boulevard, St. Louis, MO  63108


Related Pages