SLU Libraries

2017 St. Louis Literary Award

Margaret Atwood Named Recipient of
2017 St. Louis Literary Award

Previous recipients of the Saint Louis University Library Associates annual award include Tennessee Williams and Joan Didion

ST. LOUIS (January 30, 2017)​ – The Saint Louis University Library Associates have announced the selection of acclaimed writer Margaret Atwood as the 2017 St. Louis Literary Award recipient.

Tuesday, Sept. 19
The Sheldon Concert Hall

In a career spanning more than fifty years, Margaret Atwood has demonstrated a remarkable literary range in moving seamlessly from genre to genre. Atwood is best known for her works of fiction, including The Handmaid’s Tale, Cat’s Eye, and Oryx and Crake. Atwood’s most recent novel, Hag-Seed, is a retelling of Shakespeare’s The Tempest and has received outstanding reviews.

Atwood has written numerous books of poetry, including The Journals of Susanna Moodie, The Circle Game, The Door, and several volumes of selected poems. Atwood’s nonfiction works include Negotiating with the Dead: A Writer on Writing and Moving Targets: Writing with Intent: Essays, Reviews, Personal Prose 1983-2005.

Margaret Atwood Book Club Discussions

Monday, March 27 | 7 PM - The Handmaid's Tale

Monday, April 24 | 7 PM - Cat's Eye

Facilitated by Jennifer Buehler
Jennifer Buehler is an Associate Professor of Educational Studies at Saint Louis University. Jennifer earned her undergraduate degree from Yale and her doctorate from the University of Michigan. Her specialties include young adult literature, content area literacy, and the teaching of writing.

Monday, May 22 | 7 PM - Alias Grace

Facilitated by Lisa Oliverio
Lisa Oliverio is an Associate Professor at Fontbonne University. Her specialties include American Literature, women's literature, and critical theory.

Monday, June 26 | 7 PM - The Year of the Flood

Facilitated by Karla Armbruster
Karla Armbruster is Professor of English at Webster University, where she is also Coordinator of the Professional Writing Program and Chair of the Sustainability Studies Committee. Her research interests include Animal Studies, Ecocriticism, and Environmental Literature. Karla is the co-editor of two collections of criticism: The Bioregional Imagination: Literature, Ecology, and Place and Beyond Nature Writing: Expanding the Boundaries of Ecocriticism. She is also Executive Secretary of the Association for the Study of Literature and Environment.

At the home of Lana Pepper
4200 Laclede Ave., #302 St. Louis, MO 63108

Future book discussions will be announced at a later date.
Free to Library Associates members, $10 for non-members

Contact or 314-977-3100 for more information and to RSVP

About the St. Louis Literary Award

Established in 1967, the St. Louis Literary Award is presented annually by the Library Associates and has become one of the top literary prizes in the country. The award has recognized some of the most important writers of the 20th and 21st centuries, including W. H. Auden, Saul Bellow, Joan Didion, James A. Michener, Joyce Carol Oates, Tennessee Williams, and Jeanette Winterson.

About the Saint Louis University Library Associates

One of the oldest literary and cultural organizations in St. Louis, the Saint Louis University Library Associates seeks to build a closer relationship between the University and the community and to promote an appreciation for the value of literature. The Library Associates work to enhance the visibility of the Saint Louis University Libraries and to support the development of their world-class collections and services. For more information on the SLU Library Associates, visit:​