SLU Libraries

Saint Louis University Library Associates

Become a Member

Memberships begin at $100 and include:

  • Exclusive invitation to the annual St. Louis Literary Award, which has honored distinguished writers such as W. H. Auden, Barbara Tuchman, Tennessee Williams, Eudora Welty, Saul Bellow, and Joan Didion, among many others. See the full list here.
  • Membership-only programs held in private homes and arts and culture settings in the community.
  • Access to the unique resources of Saint Louis University Libraries, including use of comprehensive collections in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
  • Borrowing privileges from Pius XII Memorial Library.

Membership Levels for the Library Associates

Please fill in the dollar amount of the level of membership you would like, based on the categories below. For questions or more information, please contact Donna Neely at (314) 977-3100.


  • Pius XII Memorial Library borrowing privileges and access to unique library resources
  • Invitations to membership-only literary programs
  • Library Associates newsletter


  • Includes all of the benefits listed above, plus preferred seating at St. Louis Literary Award event


  • includes all of the benefits listed above, and program recognition

PATRON - $500

  • includes benefits listed above, plus preferred seating at Award events, and a signed copy of the Awardee’s work


  • includes the benefits listed above, plus a private VIP dinner with the author, and two Award reception tickets

Click Here to Become a Member

The St. Louis Literary Award

For the past fifty years, the Library Associates has conferred the St. Louis Literary Award on the most important writers of our time and celebrate the contributions of literature in enriching our lives.

Tennessee Williams - 1974 recipient of the St. Louis Literary Award

The list of awardees of this prize reflects numerous Nobel laureates, Pulitzer Prize winners, and National Book Award recipients.

The St. Louis Literary Award is now known as one of the top literary prizes in the country. View the full list of awardees.

Who We Are

In 1964, SLU President Father Paul Reinert convened a group of civic-minded St. Louisans of varied religions to establish an organization dedicated to the growth of the university libraries.

Among the riches of the libraries are The Vatican Film Library, described by one Oxford scholar as “the most important single addition ever made to the libraries of America,” and an invaluable rare books collection that is especially rich in Jesuit and Church history, theology, philosophy, rhetoric and education, and emblem books.

Annual Newsletter

2017 Saint Louis University Library Associates Newsletter

What We Do

The Mission of the Library associates is to enhance the Saint Louis University Libraries and the development of their world renowned collections and services. Annually, the Associates present a generous gift to the SLU Libraries.

In addition, the Associates contribute to the cultural life of the larger St. Louis community by presenting literary and cultural programs. Members enjoy the Evenings at Home series, which introduces local authors in the setting of private homes.

Most prominently, the Associates sponsor the ST. LOUIS LITERARY AWARD described above.

Board of Directors

Elected and Ex-Officio Directors

Ted Ibur

Lana Pepper

Fran Pestello

Outreach Coordinator
Clarkson ”Joe” Carpenter, III

Literary Award Chair
Ted Ibur

Board Members
Kevin E. Ertl
Kent Hornberger
Tom Lowther
Frances Pestello, Ph.D.
Raymond G. Slavin, M.D.
Jane von Kaenel
Phoebe Dent Weil
Tani Wolff

Arts & Sciences Faculty Representative
Nancy Bell
Associate Professor - Fine & Performing Arts
Saint Louis University

Staff Representative
Annie Neidel, Ph.D.
Program Director
SLU Honors Program

Student Representative
Kevin Lynch
Student Government Association President

Ex-Officio Directors
David Cassens, Dean of Libraries
Erika Cohn, Director, Law Library
Patrick McCarthy, Director, Medical Library

Related Pages

Next Evenings at Home with playwright, screenwriter and librettist David Henry Hwang
January 25, 2018
7:00 - 8:30 p.m.
Sinquefield Hall (SLU's DuBourg Hall - 221 North Grand Blvd.)

(select “Special Event and Lecture” from the pull down menu)

We are honored to join forces with Opera Theater of Saint Louis in welcoming David Henry Hwang, the Tony-award winning playwright of M. Butterfly and winner of the Obie award for the best new American play, FOB. Tim O'Leary with Opera Theater of Saint Louis will lead the discussion.
Learn more about the event
If you have any questions, please contact, 977-3100

Information for the 2017 St. Louis Literary Award

Library Associates Undergraduate Writing Award

Please send Comments & Suggestions to Saint Louis University Library Associates.

Related Pages